Bottom line folks, this is the last call for the “Cheap and Ugly” price point of $67. On Monday, July 19th, we close our doors and when we reopen it will be at a $97 price point. Email from Charles:
I hope you are doing well.
You may not remember me but you and I spoke by phone after your first e-mail back to in-actives in DWS.
I have two questions:
1) How long will you keep things open for us to come back if we want.
2) Did I understand you right that you were thinking about some kind of lighter version of Krakken that will integrate with WordPress and DWS and that this will be the 250 to 300 range?
I know you were/are in the working out of detail stage, but I am trying to figure out if it makes sense for me to come back.
So it will be DWS ($67) and the Magic Product ($250-$300)
Or will it all be $300 and that will do my market/keyword research and help me to put it into a WordPress Silo Theme.
Clarifying will help me tremendously.
Response From Sue Bell:
Hi Charles, Here are the answers to your questions:
1. The old price points are history. If you have unsubscribed then there is no longer an opportunity to get in at your old rate. What IS possible is that you come back in now at the $67 rate quickly before the doors shut on Monday morning and reopen a week or so later at a $97 price point.
2. Network Empire will be the next level of Domain Web Studio. It will be everything that DWS 2.7 is plus more major upgrades, including an integrated “keyword tool”. The Network Empire software is the next level of evolution that is a hybrid between The Last Keyword Tool and Krakken.
We are planning on this coming out late summer or early fall. Customers who are subscribed to Domain Web Studio will be eligible for a “friends and family” price point for Network Empire in the upcoming weeks. If you are wanting to dominate markets, you will still want a subscription to Krakken. For dominating everything else, you will just need Network Empire.
I am not “brand new” to online marketing or keyword research, but very far from an expert or from being a techie. I am a one man band doing organic SEO. I’m trying to build an authority site in the <Insert Niche and Market Here>. My plan is to find long tail keywords that require a minimum of backlinking to rank, get some traction in the Search Engines then go after more competitive terms once the site has some rankings/authority.
I would monetize initially with adsense, then CPA/affiliate offers etc. At the moment I’m finding it a nightmare to find any keywords that are not too competitive or finding a tool whose metrics make it easy to make a decision on what is easy or possible to rank for?
Taking everything I have said into account would DWS and (some) keyword tool be suitable for someone with my limited experience, technical know how and budget to accomplish this?
Can you give me a ballpark figure of the cost of DWS & (some) keyword tool to map out this type of site, and if you think it is a viable/effective proposition considering the details I have given you.
Response From Sue Bell:
Your strategy is sound as far as going after less competitive long tails and backing yourself into the more competitive keyword terms.
I’m not sure how you are defining competition. The bottom line is that page rank has lots of folks are trying to game the system these days by buying inbound links, with lots of brokers selling them stuff that is useless or even detrimental. This makes it appear as though some of the competition is unbeatable, but a few good links from a good neighborhood would actual blow away these high rollers. This can be easily spotted by a very low page rank to back link ratio.
There is a new breed of internet marketer out there who is moving quickly into higher Page Rank values with very few inbound links. They are accomplishing this for hundreds, even thousands of keywords using less that 10% of the inbound link quantities of their competition.
This is accomplished through website silo architecture and other methods that we help you calculate in the software.
So having an application that can translate that competition into what it’s going to cost you to rank is essential. But let me point out something you may not have considered.
Let’s say the traffic for a keyword is 50 searches a day. That’s 1500 / month. Let’s say you are ranked #1 and you have a good title tag and a good meta description so you get 60% of that traffic to your site. That’s 900 visitors / month.
If you were actually selling a product, you could calculate your conversion at somewhere between 1% and 3% and be done, Let’s say your widget costs $40 and you net $10 on each sale of your widget.
Let’s also say that because times are tough, despite a rocking website you only get a 1% conversion. 900 people * 1% = 9 sales * $10 = $90 / month. Not bad for a long tail. But you are doing an affiliate model, so now we would say that this number is actually the quantity of people clicking on your ads. Generally that’s smaller than the people who would actually convert.
Let’s say 1% click on your ad – that’s 9 visitors / month. If you get 50 cents a click, that’s $4.50 per month. It’s going to take you a long time to recoup the cost of your inbound links for that keyword.
Now let’s say you have an affiliate product that gives you a $5.00 commission (I have no reference for affiliate products in your industry, and that is a pretty lame fee, but this is a demo only). Now you take your 900 visitors / month and say 2% are going to click on the ad (a better click rate than an adsense ad) – that’s 18 people per month. But now on the affiliate site, they have to actually convert before you get paid.
Let’s say the affiliate site is incredible and gets a exceptional 5% conversion. That’s .9 people per month or an average of $4.50/month over time. It’s just flat out hard to make money on the affiliate scene unless you have an incredible product OR unless the topic of conversation is a passion and you have a website / blog for another reason that you just monetize on the side.
My recommendation to you would be one of two things. 1) you find a way to get your own product to sell or 2) you partner with someone who has an incredible product who doesn’t have the time or energy to market on the internet and take a bigger cut than the average affiliate product.
The bottom line. DWS allows you to plug all these number – for either the affiliate model or the direct sale model – into the project profile. You can update these numbers to play “what if” scenarios until you find something that works for you.
Import your keyword data and watch the flags flip and watch the ROI numbers change until you find a model that makes sense to build out. How much pain you can save yourself by doing this! It’s exactly why I built it, because I was doing all this by hand for my clients and sometimes surprised myself with the results!
We’ve tried to make Domain Web Studio as user friendly as we could. I think it’s reasonably intuitive. It’s fairly inexpensive, so if you don’t like it, you are not out much, even if it takes you time to decide you don’t like it.
Ideally you could get your project done from start to finish in 90 days, but most people take longer – I’d say the average is about 6 months. It depends on how long you spend analyzing the data and how much time you have to dedicate to your project each week.
Also the new version is designed for keyword terms beyond the niche level – it will promotion and syndication efforts for even the most competitive terms. The old version (the software version that is still live) is much harder to use and cumbersome when interfacing with the keyword tools. It’s also not too obvious exactly what to do with the syndication blueprint – but we have addressed all these issues in the new version, plus added a boat load of enhancements.
If you join now, to lock in your $67 price, don’t judge what’s coming by what’s there now Joining now, your cost would be $67/month – let’s say you have a job and this is a hobby, so you need 6 months to promote what we would normally recommend as a 3 month promotion. That’s $67 * 6 = $402 plus probably a months worth of a keyword tool – most tools are around $100/month so that makes it about a $500 investment on your part, if you do all your own promotion and syndication efforts.
I hope that helps you make a decision Hugh – and I wish you luck in your online marketing efforts. Let me know if I can be of any further assistance.
-Sue Bell (aka, The Architect)